Hugo Owens Middle School Band

1997 Horseback Run

Chesapeake, VA  23323


Home    About    Calendar    

6th Grade    7th Grade    8th Grade   

Multimedia    Links    Future Members    Archive

   Support    Contact Us 


You are the music...while the music lasts.

-T.S. Elliot

Upcoming Dates

Due to COVID-19 School Closures, all remaining band events for the 2019-2020 school year have been cancelled.   

This website is maintained with information about The Hugo Owens Middle School Band Program, but is not an official website of Chesapeake Public Schools

Countdown to Summer

All-District Results

Congratulations to the following students for auditioning into this year’s VBODA District IV All-District Band.  This was a record year for HOMS, and we are very proud of the playing level of this year’s auditioners.

Alayna Boyer - 5th chair Flute

Makayla Chumura - 6th chair Flute

Chloe Pitre - 4th chair Clarinet

Arizona McNicol - 5th chair Clarinet

Emmy Lee - 7th chair Clarinet

Garrett Boe - 14th chair Clarinet

Meghan Johns - 20th chair Clarinet

Luke Riccio - 21st chair Clarinet

Kyara Greene - 22nd chair Clarinet

Malik Barekzi - 1st chair Bass Clarinet

Samson Stevens - 5th chair French Horn

Landon May - 6th chair French Horn

Emeka Ozoe - 1st chair Trumpet

Troy Phelps - 7th chair Trumpet

Carter Ruddick - 12th chair Trumpet

Joseph Mayorga - 1st alternate Trumpet

Kaden Mundt - 8th chair Trombone

Avery Rinschler - 1st chair Baritone

Antwaan Brown - 2nd chair Baritone

Dylan Burrill - 5th chair Tuba

Ryan Cook - 1st chair Percussion

R.J. Sklatt - 2nd chair Percussion

Michael Chumura - 5th chair Percussion

2019-2020 Band Handbook

Welcome back Mustangs!  The first band grade for students will be to submit their completed band handbook form to their teacher.  Please click below for more information. 

2019-2020 Hugo Owens Band Handbook

8th Grade Band Earns Straight Superiors

Congratulations to the HOMS 8th grade band for earning straight superior ratings at this year’s VBODA Concert Band Assessment.  HOMS was the only middle school to earn a straight superior rating, and we are extremely proud of their performance.  Congratulations!

COVID-19 School Closure Resources

Due to COVID-19 school closures, all schools will remain closed for the duration of the 2019-2020 school year.  This does not mean, however, that kids have to stop learning, or enhancing their music skills. 

In each grade level’s tab, great, optional resources are being shared that are appropriate for middle school band students.  Stay safe and keep making music from home.